My favourite object… #6

Favourite object number 6 is from our Assistant House Steward/House Elf, Sharon. She has struggled to pick one item from the collection but after much consideration picked this lovely item…

 

“There are so many interesting items in our collection, it isn’t easy to single out one object to call my favourite.

I thought back to the days when I first started at Charlecote and to the things that made the biggest impression on me as I came to know the items in the house.

Then I thought about whether those items still held the same spark of enthusiasm. What is it that I always tell people they mustn’t leave without seeing.

Then it was easy … The letter from Oliver Cromwell to Richard Lucy to attend the Barebones Parliament in 1653.

The letter from Oliver Cromwell to Richard Lucy to attend the Barebones Parliament in 1653

The letter from Oliver Cromwell to Richard Lucy –  1653

A long time before I came to work at Charlecote I visited the Houses of Parliament, and during the tour, had the opportunity to look at the death warrant for Charles I.

This is signed by, amongst others, Oliver Cromwell. I was very impressed to have seen such an old document that played a major part in this countries history and never for one moment thought that I could see another important document signed by Cromwell so very close to home.

We often pay a great deal of attention to the ‘Mary Elizabeth’ era at Charlecote, and rightly so because she was a huge influence here. However, we should not overlook the Lucy’s of the 1600’s who played a very clever game between Royalists and Parliamentarians. Between them they had family members in both camps and even shut Charlecote up for sometime and moved away. They played a shrewd game and kept the home intact and ready to pass on to future generations and were also kind enough to keep safe, a short, but very important letter which this year is 360 years old !

Sharon, House Elf

Leave a Reply

